I love you

I love you

You say “I love you” like it fixes things

Like it’s the only word that matters

You say “I love you” as if it’ll heal the wounds

or erases all the broken words

that have fallen between us

You say “I love you” like a peace flag

to subdue the war that’s raged inside of me

for ages now

You say “I love you” like a trump card

that you throw on the table of the game we’ve played

for so long

You say “I love you” as if it matters

as if it’ll change the way you see me

or the way I think about you

You say “I love you” like a game

like a weapon

like a sword

like it’s something I’ve never heard before

like a hand that wipes everything off the table but that fact

“I love you”

You say “I love you” like you expect me to react

like you expect me to say “I love you” back

All I want is for you to say

“I love you”

And mean it

~05-12-05

2 Responses to “I love you”


  1. 2 Sonkind Januarie 28, 2010 om 7:02 nm

    Soms is “I ove you” lankal nie meer genoeg nie. Dade spreek harder as woorde.


Lewer kommentaar

