book launch

I went to a book launch today. By myself.

I’ve been following this dude’s blog for a while now. And he is South African and self-publishing. It’s a book on church and basically some criticism on how we’re doing it wrong and what we can do better, I think. But really awesome and honest and raw and more of his story and journey with church.

Anyway so after work I decided to go, coz it was 15min from my house and I realllyyyy hate going home alone when I know no one will be there or I have nothing to do that evening.

But I was feeling pretty insecure and self-aware (is that a word?) when I drove there and knew it would be small and intimate as he is not well known yet, I think. So I stopped at Constantia Villiage mall a bit early. Walked passed the seattle coffee shop where it was just to check things out. I prayed to God on the way there, I was like: “You know the mood I’m in. You know if someone looks at me funny or makes me feel out of place or if I get spooked for even a second, I will leave. I will turn around and walk out”

But I decided to go anyway. I would be proud of myself for pushing through, because this is soooo my thing and the guy thinks the same as me.

Anyway so I went  to the Pick and Pay first. I always feel better when I have something to carry. Got back to Seattle and there were a few more people. And two ladies sitting at the entrance selling his book. Just to now look akward (because people were sitting around with their friends, scurrying for chairs ect) I asked the lady: “Hi what is this?” (she must’ve been like, what is your IQ, cant you see?) but she said “A book launch” And I asked again, stupidly, “Can anyone be here?” and she smiled and said “Yes.”

On which I hurried over to the counter to buy some coffee. I knew if I had coffee I would have to stay at least until it’s finished. And I would have something to do with my hands, in an attempt to look less akwards and out of place. Now I realise I had some friends I could ask to go with (before you judge me as being anti-social with no friends) but I wasn’t particularly in the mood to make small talk or hang out with someone afterwards. I am in a mood sometimes. I was in a mood this evening.

Anyway so with my coffee I made my way back and found a chair opposite the book-selling-lady. The presentation in front was counting down: 6 minutes to go. People were arriving and talking loudly. This made me feel comfortable and I could kind of dissapear at the back.

Then the dude started talking. And I KNEW I’d found a kindred soul.

I’m not going to say more that than, except that sometimes, God knows how to connect us with others like ourselves.

If you like my blog, think like me, or simply don’t like the church go to:

http://www.unlearning.co.za/

0 Responses to “book launch”



  1. Lewer Kommentaar

Lewer kommentaar

