“Karlien, meet yourself”

So I’ve never been good at being alone. It’s not my favourite thing to be nor can I stand it for long periods of time. In 2009 working in rural Mpumalanga I made better acquaintances with being alone. One could say we almost became friends. But one of those friends you don’t see often, but when you do you can chat for hours.

So here I am in Sweden again. Me and alone-ness staring each other face to face. More often than I care for. The romance of being alone wears out quickly in a small room on the 9th floor when it’s dark and grey outside and the cold descends like a predator.

So…Winter is coming. I need to find a way to handle this. My usual escape methods (e.g. a glass of red wine with my flatmate on my balcony, sushi at Beluga, staying out late with friends and coffee after work) are unattainable due to both financial reasons and lack of people to hang out with.

I’m sure it will get better. This is only the beginning. Or it could get worse. Either way, this is the way it is now and I need to make friends with my own company. Any suggestions? Anyone???

Lewer kommentaar

